Getting Ready for Tanzania

It’s hard to believe we are just over two weeks away from leaving for Tanzania! Between finishing up the semester this week, polishing up all of the final projects and papers that are due next week, and moving to a new house over the next two weeks, it has hardly hit me that I will be leaving the country in two weeks. Two weeks seems like such a short period of time to accomplish all of the things I still need to get done before leaving. With that said, I have spent a lot of nights the past couple weeks thinking about how the next couple weeks are going to play out and what I need to prepare myself for when we leave for Africa.

The biggest thing I have been worrying about is how I am going to get all of the stuff I need to get before leaving for Africa and how I am going to get all of that stuff in a suitcase small enough to fit on the plane! Another of my biggest worries is learning Swahili, which I haven’t devoted much time to. I guess that’s what the 19 hour plane ride is for!

While in Tanzania, I am looking forward to learning more about the African culture and how schools are run there. I can’t wait to actually get in the school and start teaching math (or whatever other subject they need me to teach). I am a little nervous about how I am going to create lesson plans to accommodate the different style of education¬†in Tanzania but am really optimistic that I will adjust my own planning and teaching quickly. I am also excited to see my own personal growth as a teacher throughout our time in Tanzania and I hope it will be a life-changing experience.

This entry was posted in Getting Ready for Tanzania!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

