“Experience: the most brutal teachers.”

“Experience: the most brutal of teachers.
But you learn, my God do you learn.”
-C.S. Lewis

I think that quote pretty much sums up my thoughts about leaving my plushy American life to head to Arusha for a month–while I’m overjoyed and losing more and more sleep in expectant excitement, I am also mentally prepared to be wrecked.

I know, wrecked has a seriously negative connotation here, but it fits.

New experiences are hard, I sometimes (well most of the time) struggle with them. However, from my very short life I have learned that going through any new experiences, tests, trials, whatever you want to call them, push you to be a better, deeper, (more human?) human being.

The first time my family signed me up for overnight camp, I legit cried every day I was there. But it’s crazy even though I freaked out at camp, I learned–I even grew to love it. I went back year after year and eventually worked there as a counselor. And because I had been in their shoes, I was blessed enough to be able to help campers with their acute anxiety because I had been there, I had learned, I could understand. Sorry totally digressing, anyway I’m more excited for this “wrecking” to happen, to be taught through this experience, even more than I am to meet the beautiful children at the orphanage (which is saying a lot!!).

So bring it on Tanzania, wreck me, knock me on my butt, show me how much I don’t know, how much I need to learn. Help me understand how millions of people live so differently from me, show me how to bring back what I learned and apply it. Be my brutal teacher.

I feel so blessed and incredibly thankful to be a part of this. Praying we all arrive safe and sound. Can’t wait to get to know everybody better on the plane ride there!

Here we go Tanzania 2014!!

This entry was posted in Getting Ready for Tanzania!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Experience: the most brutal teachers.”

  1. Erin Feeney says:

    So excited for you!

Leave a Reply

