T minus 12 days

How many people will get to ever say that they’ve been to Africa? I cannot believe how incredibly lucky we all are to have been given the opportunity to do what we love in such a beautiful, exotic, extraordinary place.

As student teaching comes to an end and I shift my focus towards getting ready for Tanzania, I am most excited about the connections and relationships we will form there; both with each other and the people we meet in Tanzania. I anticipate that many of the relationships we make will have a significant impact on our life, especially those with our students. Honestly though, I’m very nervous to go somewhere completely new. I’m typically a home body and would rather stay at home reading on a Friday night than do anything else. Being somewhere so completely out of my comfort zone with none of the luxuries of home will be a challenge. I am doing my best to get in the mindset of embracing the challenge and also to remember that it will be well worth it in the end! It’s also a comfort to know that some in the group have been on the trip before and that we will be able to go to them if and when we need them.

I still have a lot of shopping to get done for the trip and I’m a little overwhelmed with trying to keep the list organized; everyday it seems to get just a couple items longer. More than anything though, I am excited for our adventure to start. It’s hard to believe that the trip is just under two weeks away. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night super excited about how close our departure really is (sometimes it’s more of a panicky excited…). I will be sad to leave friends and family when the time comes, but it’s just four short weeks. I’m sure we will be wishing we had more time left when it’s time to go back home. There are a lot of uncertainties that come to mind when I think about Tanzania, but there is one thing I am certain of… we are going to have the experience of a lifetime!

This entry was posted in Getting Ready for Tanzania!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

