Kill-a-man-Jared

On Saturday, our class traveled to Mount Kilimanjaro to climb up to the first hut. It’s several hundred meters of vertical, but the trail we traveled was 5 miles long which made for 10 miles round trip. I might be just a tad out of shape (or very), so it was an interesting and exhausting climb, but I made it. My legs are still pretty sore today after two days, and I suspect they are going to be sore for another day or two. In typical Jared fashion, I took a nap at the hut because let’s be real, how many people can say they took a nap on the side of Mount Kilimanjaro? It was a pretty nice nap too. It was perfect for rejuvenating me to climb back down. I can’t remember the last time I walked 10 miles (or if I ever have), so it was a great workout.

The experience was worth every calorie burnt on the climb. The scenery was beautiful. Everything was so lush and lively that there wasn’t a dull visual on the trail. I was so taken in by the scenery that I sometimes forgot to look at where I was walking on the trail. I managed not to fall at all, but there were a couple close calls, and I don’t think anyone would have been able to catch me! It was amazing, and I am so glad I got the chance to experience the climb. Going to the top would have been cool, but that’s a several day expedition, and I don’t think I’d have made it. Having the first hut as our final destination going up was quite alright by me.

On the way back down the trail, four of us made a stop at a little side path that took us to a waterfall. That hike was it’s own kind of treacherous because the path was wet stone and lots of giant steps, but we decided to make the venture anyways. When is the next time I’m going to get to climb on Kilimanjaro, right? We took the trek, and it was definitely worth it. The waterfall may have been the most beautiful part! I’m grateful for the experiences I’ve been able to enjoy thus far, and I can’t wait to see what else is in store for us here.

This entry was posted in Kilimanjaro Climb. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

