Climbing Mount Kilimanjaro

This past weekend we climbed Mount Kilimanjaro. Mount Kilimanjaro is 5,895 meters above sea level. We climbed to the first hut on the Marangu route, which is a total of 2,700 meters above sea level. The Marangu route is the easiest route to take to the top of the mountain. This is also a popular route for tourists. It is also known as the Coca-Cola route because at the huts along the route Coca-Cola is available to buy. Before the climb I had no idea what to expect. I figured because I am a student athlete it should be an easy climb for me; however, I was proven wrong.

As we started the climb, the scenery was beautiful. Every thing was so green! I cannot remember the last time I was surrounded by so much nature. It was so refreshing to hear leaves blowing in the wind, and the running water of the small water falls. At first there was only a slight incline; however, at one point we turned a corner and there was a very steep climb ahead! Every now and then we would turn another corner find yet again another steep climb ahead. I found myself looking forward to the breaks we took! The higher the altitude we climbed the thinner the air became. I could not believe how much harder it became the higher we climbed into the mountain because of the altitude. When I took a deep breath, it felt like I had hardly taken any oxygen into my lungs. Eventually I started to adjust to the altitude. Because I am also in good shape, I was able to catch my breath quickly when we took breaks. The last 30 minutes I was able to power up the mountain and reach the hut!

I am so proud of all of my classmates for their effort and enthusiasm shown when climbing the mountain! It was not an easy task, not even for a student athlete! After my experience, I plan on coming back and climbing the entire way to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro.

This entry was posted in Kilimanjaro Climb. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

