Lasting Impressions

It is Day 26 and our flight leaves in less than 24 hours to return to our families… It literally seems like yesterday we left Michigan not knowing where this journey would lead us. And I think it’s safe to say everyone’s lives have been touched in some way by this experience.
Personally, this trip has had a HUGE impact on my life. But as of now, I don’t really know much of what will stay with me. I’m having a hard time stepping back because I’m still immersed in the culture. But soon, when I return home, I know many things will hit me.

However, there is one thing I am very sure about, and that is how fortunate I am back at home. I have my own car. I have thousands of amazing opportunities at Grand Valley where I even get to study abroad. I have safe, clean water to drink. I have access to the most up-to-date technology. I can breathe a sigh of relief every night when I get home from a busy day. And yet, it’s crazy to think people like me could be the least bit sad or depressed. All we (and as much as I would like to deny it, I) focus on is more, more, more. But I’ve learned by living firsthand “more” is not really more.

Overall, I’m beyond grateful for the experiences I had both in and outside the classroom. But from the school aspect of the trip, I am very excited to get in my assigned classroom in the U.S. in the fall. I want to compare and contrast the two teaching worlds which will make me grow so much as a teacher. I am also excited to share my stories with other teachers so our teaching can grow together.

 

Thanks for reading,

Chelsea Chritz

This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

