Lasting Impressions

The number of things that I am going to take away from this trip is immense. It would take pages for me to explain everything that I have gained, so I will only mention a few things that stick out the most to me. The first thing is how lucky for all the opportunities that I have had in my life. After spending a month in schools here I feel very fortunate to have been able to go to the schools in my community and to have gone through type of educational system I did. It saddens me to see students that are as intelligent as myself, or more so, that might not be able to go to college because of money or because of Tanzania’s system of national examinations. My education also consisted of schools filled with passionate teachers and tons of resources. If I had grown up in Tanzania I do not believe I would have been as successful academically, and in life, as I am currently. 

The other thing that will stay with me for the rest of my life is Tanzania’s culture. The people here are amazing. I have never felt as welcomed as I do here. Walking down the street is a wonderful experience because of all the people that say hello. While many of the people that I have met on the street tried to sell me things, there were also many who simply wanted to welcome me to Tanzania and hear about my trip. It is hard not to fall in love with a country filled with such kind and welcoming people.

The last things that I will take away from this trip are related to teaching. I have learned so much about myself as a teacher as well as education in general. I cannot wait to get back into the classroom once I begin my assistant teaching. I was surprised by my ability to come up with effective lessons without many resources and I am excited to see what I can do with all the available resources in America. Teaching in Tanzania has provided me with so much hands on experience that will be invaluable as I begin my teaching career. 

This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

