Realization

I was lucky enough to have volunteered on WAM July 24th-27th. That is the Make-A-Wish Wish-A-Mile where the bike riders raise money to ride 300 miles over the course of three days so we need to make sure the places we stayed had everything needed. Anyways, there was a photographer that was specifically for WAM and he was nice and funny and would joke around with us. I found out that he was a math teacher at a middle school. I was so excited and I told him that I was going to school to be a math teacher. He immediately got angry and said “DON’T DO IT. DO NOT BECOME A TEACHER”. I was so appalled and taken aback that he flipped a switch from joking around to being so forceful I didn’t know what to say. He said “If you want to be in debt for the rest of your life and have no retirement, then be my guest and be a teacher but you have time so change your mind.” This made me feel so crappy about myself and my decision to be a teacher and he made me second guess everything. I can’t even describe how bad I felt. After a couple days, I realized that I shouldn’t feel bad. First, I thought he shouldn’t be a teacher if he really hates it that much. Also,if you go into teaching to make a lot of money and get rich, they you’re an idiot. Everyone knows that teachers make like no money, so that was not news to me. I realized, though, that I loved teaching in Africa when I was there.  I love kids, I love math, and I want my passion for math to be passed to my students and that is why I am becoming a teacher. I want my students to learn and I want to help them. I am not going into teaching for the money aspect of it, but because I know this is my passion and this is what I want to do for the rest of my life and I’m going to love it.

 

Screen Shot 2014-06-01 at 9.46.40 PM

These kids helped me know that I want to be a teacher.  It was not easy to teach to them and I don’t expect it to ever be, but I loved it nonetheless.

 

This entry was posted in Getting Ready for Tanzania!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

